Tuesday, May 01, 2007

Still need a job? Here's some great news!

Hey, are you graduating in 12 days and still looking for a job? Have no fear, for the Career Placement Center at this school is looking out for you! Here's the latest job they think you're qualified for as a graduate of this school (based on the fact that it's posted on the password-protected jobs database available only to students and alumni of this school):

Busy Brickell Ave mediation practice requires full time scheduling secretary; excellent computer/phone skills a must; bi-lingual helpful, but not required; non-smoker; litigation experience required; you will be working directly with and for owner of business and will be assisting in all aspects of the administration and scheduling of his day-to-day practice; must make an excellent appearance, be able to multi-task, respond efficiently to instruction, and communicate well with other professionals and para-professionals in law firm environments; salary and benefits commensurate with experience. Respond to xxxxxxx with resume and availability for interview.
But wait, here's the best part:
20,000 - 29,999

What is wrong with these people? Does anyone pay attention to the jobs that get posted? Do they really expect graduates of this law school to become secretaries? What's next? Busy law firm seeks janitor; must be highly motivated, able to multi-task and able to communicate well with others.


At 4:27 PM, Anonymous Anonymous said...

You should email them and ask them if they do any screening of jobs they post on their password-protected site. You also have to mention the .doc file we get every six weeks with 10 randomly pulled "jobs" that the Career Center seems to think are the best possible prospects for us. I swear, they may be nice people in there but they don't do anything for us.

Monster or CareerBuilder offer more promising options...

At 12:34 AM, Anonymous Anonymous said...

I want my janitors to have litigation experience.

At 7:36 AM, Anonymous Anonymous said...

Did you sign up to take the Fla. bar on your computer? I just got an email about that from bar1exam@yahoo.com Not (some name)@floridabar.org or anything important sounding. Are they actually using a free yahoo account to send this stuff out? Maybe it's not just UM but rather the whole state.

At 8:04 AM, Blogger some guy said...

I got that e-mail from the Florida bar, too. Eventually I'm going to call them and ask if it's legit.

At 6:03 PM, Anonymous Anonymous said...

Must make an excellent appearance?

At 6:04 PM, Anonymous Anonymous said...

Must make an excellent appearance?


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home